The business was ruined by the advent of petrol-driven motor-boats; noisier, smellier but more reliable. Thorneycroft for boat building and during the First World War they produced their renowned motor torpedo boats, in one of which a Victoria Cross was won. The pump was cast by Mr Dickie, at a cost of £57 10s including a brass inscription plate. (TQ156653) Opened on 20 October 1930, to serve the building estates ribbon developed along the newly opened Kingston By-Pass. (TQ146656) North side of road, near the "Orleans Arms". This boat with the medal painted on its side was preserved on the island until 1967 when Thorneycrofts moved to Southampton. Within twelve years the local sanitary authority declared the water "unfit for Man or Beast" and the pump was removed to Sandown Park racecourse. (TQ123589) All original stations dating from when the line was opened, but altered slightly from time to time. The most important historical road to run through the Borough is undoubtedly the A3 Portsmouth Road, now by-passed for much of its old route.
The ground at the upper end of the island is raised considerably by receiving the spoil excavated from the construction of the reservoirs on the mainland. (TQ161673) This factory was originally constructed by the engineers Willand and Robinson in 1879, but much was rebuilt after a disastrous fire in November 1888. After the last war, they produced three-wheeled Ministry of Pensions invalid cars and, based on the same design, a private car called the "Petite", the bodies of both of which were made from fibreglass. (TQ112579) In Downside Common Road, it was erected in 1858 by Harvey Combe, the local squire, for the benefit of the inhabitants who had no water supply of their own. It was returned to the village and re-erected on the village green in 1961 when the racecourse was modernised. (TQ172673) The Metropolis Water Act of 1852 prohibited the extraction of water for household purposes from the Thames below Teddington Weir. It was first brought under the control of a turn-pike trust by Act of Parliament in 1772, the terms of which were later amended by subsequent legislation. (TQ161663) North side of the road, near Hampton Court branch railway bridge.
The water authority extracts water by pumping from the gravel beneath the island, and which is thereby partly filtered. The reconstructed building utilised a "saw-tooth" north light roof, the earliest known example of the application of this technique to the construction of a machine shop. The works have now been divided among a number of small enterprises. Unfortunately the large cast-iron trough was not re-erected with it. Even before this, however, the Lambeth Water Company had decided to move its intake upstream, and built works at Long Ditton, which were completed and opened in the same year as the General Act was passed. (TQ120667) Soon after the two water companies had moved to Long Ditton (see previous paragraph), they much regretted their choice of site, as, due to turbulence caused by outfalls of the rivers Mole, Ember and Rythe, they sucked up a great deal of mud with the water which was difficult and expensive to filter out. (TQ162662) This is a steel girder viaduct with long brick-arch approaches, constructed in 1913/4, to obviate the necessity of Hampton Court trains standing by waiting for other trains to clear before passing over the main line tracks. A series of triangular-shaped milestones were placed along its length, probably in the late eighteenth century, giving the distances from Hyde Park Corner, Portsmouth, and the nearest villages on either side.
Charging stations were positioned at strategic locations up the Thames, mostly on floating platforms, but that at Platts Island was by far the largest and most important. (TQ136642) South side of road, opposite Hill House.
It included a steam-driven generating station, the buildings of which still stand, and which also supplied power to the nearby Hurst Park race-course. (TQ138645) This cast-iron pump was erected by the parish over the public well, six feet in diameter and over thirty feet deep, using the sum of £80 given to them by the Comte de Paris, who lived in nearby Claremont, on the occasion of his marriage in 1864.
Ownership of such a site means that the owner must give three months notice to the Secretary of State of any intended demolition, removal or repair. John Cobb, Henry Segrave, George Eyston, Raymond Hays, Prince Bira of Siam, Kaye Don, Parry Thomas, Kay Petre, Tim Birkin and Malcolm Campbell amongst many others became household names.